Skip to content
A green parrot at the mesh of an aviary

Prevue vs A&E vs Kings Cages: Three Cage Makers Compared on What They Publish

By Bird Cage ReviewPublished 6 min readHow we research

Affiliate disclosure: product links on this page go to Amazon, or to the maker's own store for brands that sell only direct. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you; a link to a maker's store earns us nothing. No retailer or brand sees our picks before they are published or has any say in them. How we choose.

Three names come up on every parrot cage page: Prevue Pet Products (Prevue Hendryx on older listings), A&E Cage Company and Kings Cages. This comparison is not about which is best, because the bird and the room decide that; it is about what each maker publishes, so you can check a cage against the Merck Veterinary Manual's and VCA's size tables before buying. The short version: Prevue publishes interior dimensions, bar spacing, wire gauge and a zinc-free coating statement on its own site for every cage we looked up; A&E's cages reach us through Amazon and pet-retailer listings with overall dimensions and spacing but no gauge or coating statement from the maker; and Kings Cages' site did not resolve when we tried it, so everything we know about its stainless line is a retailer's description. Warranty terms were not readable for any of the three.

What each publishes

Prevue Pet ProductsA&E Cage CompanyKings Cages
Where we read itprevuepet.com product pages and FAQAmazon listings and PetSmart; aecageco.com showed category pages onlykingscages.com did not resolve; a retailer's buying guide
Interior dimensionsYes, interior and overall, per cageOverall in listings; interior sometimesNot read
Bar spacingYesYes, in listings (in inches or mm)Not read
Wire gaugeYes (8, 9, 12, 14, 16 gauge by cage)Bar diameter on some listings (5 mm on the walk-in aviary)Not read
Coating statementAll finishes lead-free and zinc-free (FAQ)"Non-toxic powder coat" in listings; no maker statement readRetailer: stainless line is 304 with 8 percent nickel minimum
Stainless cagesImperial 3457, Imperial XXL 3458, stainless playtop 3455Stainless lines sold through retailersStainless line (retailer description)
WarrantyNot found on the pages readNot foundNot found

Prevue

Prevue's product pages are the reason so many of our picks are Prevue: each one states overall and interior size, bar spacing and gauge, the bird sizes the cage suits and the care instructions (mild soap and water). The FAQ states that all finishes are lead-free and zinc-free, which is the only maker coating statement we found among the three. The range runs from the $27 Parakeet Manor (12 by 9 by 16, 3/8-inch) through the F040 and F050 flight cages (flight cage guide), the 3152 and 3154 playtop bird homes, the Empire 3157 and Silverado 3155S (46 by 36 by 78 1/4 overall, 1 3/8-inch, 9 gauge, for macaws) to the stainless Imperial. Prevue's figures do not flatter the cages: its own interior numbers are what show the 3154 under Merck's grey row and the F050 as a budgie flight rather than a conure one. Amazon carries some Prevue cages and not others (the 3154 and the Imperial were retailer-only when we read), so a Prevue pick in our guides is sometimes a maker link.

A&E Cage Company

A&E's cages come to us through listings. Its walk-in aviary WI8662 (86 by 62 by 79 inches, 5 mm bars at 1-inch spacing, 340 pounds, in stock at $2,738) is the largest indoor enclosure in our guides; its double flight cage 6421 (64 by 21 by 65, 12.7 mm spacing, $653) is the long divided cage in the multiple-birds guide; its 503 flight cage (24 by 16 by 16, 1/2-inch, $51) is a small travel or hospital cage; the Platinum Victorian-top cage (22 by 17 inches, $321) is a cockatiel cage with a plastic base. PetSmart lists an A&E Flight Cage XL at 40 by 30 by 72 with 1/2-inch spacing. What the listings do not give is gauge (other than the aviary's 5 mm bars) or a coating statement from A&E, and retailers describe the walk-ins as indoor-only. A&E's own site, when we read it, showed product categories and no product pages, so a figure printed on an A&E listing is the retailer's transcription of the maker's sheet and not the sheet itself.

Kings Cages

Kings Cages did not resolve at kingscages.com when we tried it. A retailer's buying guide describes its stainless line as medical-grade 304 stainless with a minimum of 8 percent nickel, and Kings' coated and stainless cages appear in pet-retailer catalogues. We have no Kings interior figure, spacing, gauge or coating statement from the maker, so no Kings cage is picked in our guides. That is a statement about what we could verify, not about the cages.

Spacing and gauge, side by side

CageMakerInterior or overall (in)SpacingGauge or barFigure from
F040 flight cagePrevue30 1/4 x 20 1/4 x 40 interior1/2 in12 and 16 gaugeMaker
F050 flight cagePrevue36 1/8 x 22 1/8 x 47 interior1/2 in8 and 12 gaugeMaker
3152 playtop bird homePrevue23 1/4 x 19 3/4 x 34 3/4 interior3/4 in9 and 12 gaugeMaker
3154 playtop bird homePrevue34 1/2 x 22 3/4 x 36 1/2 interior3/4 in9 gaugeMaker
Empire 3157Prevue45 3/8 x 35 3/8 x 63 interior1 3/8 in9 gaugeMaker
Imperial 3457Prevue39 1/4 x 25 7/8 x 60 interior1 in8 gauge stainlessMaker
Walk-in aviary WI8662A&E86 x 62 x 79 overall1 in5 mm barsAmazon listing
Double flight cage 6421A&E64 x 21 x 65 overall12.7 mmNot statedAmazon listing
503 flight cageA&E24 x 16 x 16 overall1/2 inNot statedAmazon listing
Flight Cage XLA&E40 x 30 x 72 overall1/2 inNot statedPetSmart listing

Gauge matters because the Merck table pairs each spacing with a bird that can bend thin wire: a macaw on 1-inch spacing needs the 8 or 9 gauge Prevue states, and a listing that gives spacing without gauge leaves that unknown. The bar spacing guide has the species table.

Materials

Prevue: powder-coated wrought iron and steel, stated zinc-free and lead-free, plus stainless without a stated grade. A&E: powder-coated steel described as non-toxic in listings, plus stainless lines through retailers, with no maker statement read. Kings: stainless described by a retailer as 304. The coated versus stainless comparison has VCA's view of each material; the point here is that only one of the three put its coating claim where we could read it.

Where they sell

Prevue sells on its own site, on Amazon for part of the range, and through pet retailers. A&E sells through Amazon and pet retailers, with some cages shipping in two boxes by freight (the walk-in aviary and the Seny-sized doubles). Kings sells through pet retailers and dealers. For a cage over $500, the retailer's return terms matter as much as the maker's, because a 340-pound aviary is not posted back.

Warranties

We did not find warranty terms on Prevue's product pages or FAQ, on A&E's listings or on the Kings retailer page. If a warranty matters to the purchase, get it in writing from the seller before paying; we will not state a term we have not read.

Which to look at first

For a bird under grey size, Prevue, because the interior figures and the coating statement are published and the size checker can be run on them before the box arrives. For an indoor aviary or a long divided cage, A&E, because nothing else in the US market we read reaches 86 inches, with the caveat that the figures come from listings. For a stainless macaw cage, Prevue's Imperial XXL and the King's and A&E stainless lines are the candidates, and the one whose seller will put interior size, spacing, gauge and grade in writing is the one to buy.

Frequently asked questions

Which cage maker publishes the most information?

Prevue: interior and overall dimensions, bar spacing, wire gauge and a lead-free, zinc-free coating statement on its own site for every cage we looked up. A&E's figures reach buyers through retailer listings; Kings Cages' site did not resolve when we tried it.

Are A&E cages good?

The listings give overall size and spacing (the 86 by 62 by 79 inch walk-in aviary at 1-inch spacing with 5 mm bars, the 64-inch double flight cage at 12.7 mm) and retailers describe non-toxic powder coats, but we read no maker statement on gauge or coating. They are the largest indoor enclosures in our guides.

Why are no Kings Cages picked in your guides?

Because we could not read a maker figure: kingscages.com did not resolve, and the 304 stainless description comes from a retailer's guide. We pick only cages whose interior size and spacing we can check against the veterinary tables.

Is Prevue Hendryx the same as Prevue Pet Products?

The Prevue Hendryx name appears on older Amazon listings of Prevue cages (the 1305 travel cage, for example), and prevuepet.com is where the current product pages and FAQ live.

Do these makers offer warranties?

We did not find warranty terms on Prevue's pages, A&E's listings or the Kings retailer page, and will not state a term we have not read. Ask the seller for it in writing before buying a large cage.

Which maker is best for a macaw cage?

Prevue publishes the Empire 3157 (45 3/8 by 35 3/8 by 63 inside, 1 3/8-inch, 9 gauge) and the stainless Imperial XXL; A&E's walk-in aviary is the largest enclosure by listing. The macaw guide ranks them against Merck's 48 by 36 by 66 row.

Sources

  1. FAQs: Bird Cages, Prevue Pet Products
  2. Playtop Bird Home 3154, Prevue Pet Products
  3. Empire Bird Cage 3157, Prevue Pet Products
  4. Imperial Extra Large Stainless Bird Cage 3457, Prevue Pet Products
  5. A&E Cage Company, A&E Cage Company
  6. A&E Cage Company Flight Cage XL, PetSmart
  7. Minimum and Bar Spacing Recommendations (table), Merck Veterinary Manual
  8. Housing Large Birds, VCA Animal Hospitals

Cover photo: Free green parrot cage close, CC0 1.0, via rawpixel. Cropped.

Share this article

Aviaries & Flight CagesPrevueA&E Cage CompanyKings CagesBrandsAviaries & Flight Cages